![]() |
| Tuesday morning coming back from Williams Blvd. |
Considering how much I complain about bad weather, it seems only fair to acknowledge how nice this week's mornings have been. With pre-dawn temperatures in the 60s and relatively trivial winds, it's been like what I imagine riding in other places must be in the middle of summer. The lack of rain, which on the one hand is good for riding but on the other hand not so good for the plants, looks like it will continue through the weekend, after which the forecast is currently calling for a six or seven rainy days. So as they say, "make hay while the sun shines." Hay in this case being mileage.
The nice weather has, predictably, brought more riders to the early morning weekday rides, which has made them perhaps a little faster, but at the same time perhaps a little easier. The difference between having one rider in front of you and having ten riders in front of you is not to be underestimated. This morning as we were waiting for the 6 am start in front of the museum of art, Woody glanced over and commented something like, "Wow, Randy finally caved in and got a new bike with disc brakes," to which I had to reply, "Well, it's got over 6,000 miles on it already." It was probably the first time Woody has seen the bike well enough to realize it wasn't the Bianchi since October since we're always in the dark and he often needs to split off from the morning rides a little early for work.
![]() |
| Always fun trying to draft behind a TT bike |
Tuesday's ride was missing Maurizio whose regular airline commute from Houston has probably been disrupted by the ongoing congressional standoff about Homeland Security/TSA/ICE appropriations. After the usual Lakeshore Drive segment we were left with just a few for the out-and-back on the lake trail. Jeff was on his new-to-him time trial bike, so I spent a fair amount of time behind him as he was going a little faster than our usual zone 2 pace. It still felt like a good workout.
The WeMoRi seemed to have a pretty big turnout, although reports were that a number of people were shelled along Lakeshore Drive before I merged into the group on Marconi. It was, I think, a fairly fast one with Jaden taking a few flyers off the front that were answered by the group rather unenthusiastically. Josiah and Dylan got themselves well positioned along the stretch between the bridge and the finish at Marconi, taking advantage of an early surge that ended with Dylan crossing the imaginary line first. I'd been interested in contesting the sprint that morning but got myself boxed in toward the end at a bad time.
![]() |
| Just the front part of the group on Thursday |
On Thursday we had an unusually big group for the lake trail segment when we met up with a number of riders from the regular group that rides out of Metairie - Keith, Brad, Glenn, Russell, et. al. (Some of these guys are going to have to start using Strava if they expect me to remember their names). That kept the pace up a little bit, since there were at least ten people in the rotation, plus a little bit of tailwind going out.
![]() |
| A little ground fog on Friday |
This morning's Friendly Friday group had a pretty big turnout, although it didn't really speed up a whole lot until after the Armory loop, and even then it was mostly in the 25-26 mph range, so nothing too taxing when in the draft. I guess I'll be doing the Giro tomorrow. It's looking to be a little cooler - like low 60s, with a pretty significant northeast wind, so it will be a workout for sure.
![]() |
| Here we go again |
Meanwhile, I finally got the Time Trial championship event permit and registration set up for May 31, but of course haven't made any of the other arrangements quite yet. The new USAC site was absolutely no less confusing than the old one was, and I still don't know if I'll be able to get the rider data from them so I can use our usual registration and results spreadsheet and lookups, and I need to check the BikeReg site to make sure I have the license restrictions set up correctly. I decided to reduce the entry fee for unlicensed Cat. 5/Novice riders by $15 so that when they have to buy their 1-day licenses the total comes out to $30, with is the entry fee for almost everyone else. I decided not to try to do the same for Masters since those should be able to afford licenses or the "experienced one-day" license fee. It's all so much easier when everyone has a racing license and BikeReg can automatically enforce category, age, and gender restrictions, and all I have to do is plug in license numbers and have the spreadsheet populate all of the rider information from the USAC database, which I may or may not have this year. I'm still thinking about putting on a 2-person time trial later in the summer, and then of course we'll have to make a decision on the Tour de La for late summer/fall.

















.jpg)












